Community Health Needs Assessment

The Oklahoma Office of Rural Health (OORH) works closely with and facilitates Community Health Needs Assessments (CHNA) for rural hospitals across the state. The CHNA process was adopted to meet the regulatory requirements of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010. The regulations stipulate that 501(c)(3) hospitals (not-for-profit facilities) who submit an IRS Schedule H, Form 990 must complete a CHNA every three years. The general idea behind the needs assessment is to gather community input that leads to recommendations of how the local hospital and health sector as a whole can better serve their residents.

The CHNA process includes four community meetings with broad representation from the local community and patients served.  It is imperative that those representing public health and those who represent or work closely with minority or low-income populations be included in the process. Deliverables from the process include:
  • A demographic analysis of the hospital’s medical service area;
  • An economic impact of the health sector;
  • An analysis of county-specific health indicators and outcomes;
  • A community survey of health care services and utilization;
  • A primary care physician demand analysis; and
  • A comprehensive final report that documents all methodology, health concerns identified and prioritized, and an implementation plan.
The OORH has completed the CHNA process for hospitals in the counties highlighted in orange on the map below. Select a county on the map or via the drop-down list to view the final needs assessment report. All documents open as Adobe PDF files.

For more information about completing a CHNA, please contact the Oklahoma Office of Rural Health, 405-840-6500, Lara Brooks ( or Corie Kaiser (

Canadian County Jackson County Craig County Osage County Roger Mills County Kiowa County

Adair County

Atoka County

Beckham County

Blaine County

Caddo County

Canadian County

Carter County

Choctaw County

Cimarron County

Coal County

Craig County

Dewey County

Ellis County

Hughes County

Jackson County

Jefferson County

Johnston County

Kingfisher County

Kiowa County

Latimer County

LeFlore County

Lincoln County

Logan County

Love County

Major County

McClain County

Noble County

Osage County

Pawnee County

Pushmataha County

Roger Mills County

Sequoyah County

Tillman County

Wagoner County

Woods County

No comments:

Post a Comment